Facebook Security Hoax Returns

The Facebook security hoax has made a return to your timeline once again. First surfacing in 2012 and returning again in 2014 and 2015 the scam is surrounding Facebooks privacy settings, warning users that their data may be used by Facebook without permission.

Here is the security hoax status that you will see circulating Facebook:

All your posts can become public tommorow . Even the messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. Better safe than sorry! After all, it does not cost anything for a simple copy and paste. Channel 13 News was just talking about this change in Facebook’s privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. You MUST copy and paste.

Regardless whether you put this message as your status or not, nothing will change and the social giants will not be using your data. If you are unsure about your privacy settings then you can always change these by visiting the Security Centre.

Facebook have issued statements in the past in respect to rumours that have spread around the social networking site. You may remember a particular message doing the rounds stating that Facebook was going to charge unless you set a certain status, that too is a hoax.

Also it is worth noticing that Facebook’s tagline on their sign up page says “It’s free and always will be”.

Comments

comments

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *